Twitter Twitter mobile icon
News & Info Archives
Podiatrist of the Year, Stephen M. Meritt, DPM
March 31, 2017
Earl Horowitz, DPM and Stephen Meritt, DPM

Earl Horowitz, DPM and Stephen Meritt, DPM

We are proud to present this year’s Podiatrist of the Year, Stephen M. Meritt, DPM. Dr. Meritt has represented the ABMSP with honor, performing many years of selfless service to our organization, including his work as a surgical case reviewer for our Certification in Podiatric Foot and Ankle Surgery. Dr. Meritt graduated from the Ohio College of Podiatric Medicine and has practiced in Jacksonville, FL since completing his surgical residency in 1975. He is a Past President of the Florida Podiatric Medical Association and was a long time Delegate to the American Podiatric Medical Association. He currently chairs the Quality Assurance Committee, the Hospital Committee, and was the Association’s Medicare Liaison.

Dr. Meritt is also a consultant to the Florida Medicare carrier and BCBS of Florida. He was Chairman of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery for UF Health Jacksonville and an assistant professor in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery of the University of Florida College of Medicine, Jacksonville. Dr. Meritt was also the founding director of the Podiatric Residency Program at the University of Florida. He has also served two terms on the Florida Board of Podiatric Medicine and is currently an expert of the Prosectring Services Unit of the Florida Department of Health.

Dr. Meritt was honored as Podiatrist of the Year in 1995 and Practitioner of the Year in 1998 by the Florida Podiatric Medical Association. Dr. Meritt was also honored as one of the Top 175 podiatrists in the United States by Podiatry Management in October 2006. He was published in the Journal of Foot and Ankle Surgery in May/June 2014, Volume 55, Number 3. Upon retirement from the University of Florida in 2014 he joined the Veteran’s Health Administration in Jacksonville, FL.

Congratulations Dr. Meritt for a career well done and for being our Podiatrist of the Year!